IPS Logo

Institute of Physics Singapore

Fellowship for Physicists and the Promotion of Physics in Singapore

History of IPS

IPS was first founded in 1972 and to date IPS has more than one hundred and forty Elected Members.

It is a fraternity governed by an annually Elected Council comprising highly qualified physicists or physics-related practitioners in Singapore, mainly from the local universities.

Professor Bernard Tan, a well-known Singapore musician, composer and physicist, is one of the founding members of the Institute of Physics, Singapore.

In addition to the 41 IPS Elected Fellows are Distinguished Hononary Fellows, that include the former Singapore's President Dr. Tony Tan, Professor Paul Davies, Professor A. Ekert, Professor Christian Joachim, and several Nobel Laureates, namely Professor Jerome Friedman, Professor Steven Chu, Professor Yang Chen-Ning, Professor Gerardus 't Hooft, Professor Horst Stormer, Professor J.G. Bednorz, Professor Z.I. Alferov, Professor Klaus von Klitzing, Professor Anthony J. Leggett, Professor Carl Weiman, Professor Robert Laughlin.

Last Updated on 2021-08-13